Who’s the Fake IPL blogger?

There’s been a lot of hullabaloo in the internet over a fairly new blog, Fake IPL Player that is supposedly written by a member of the Kolkata Knight Riders IPL franchise. Even the venerable Cricinfo has an article about this blog. Now this blog certainly makes for interesting reading. The author leaked that Dada would not open the innings in their first match.  And yes, Gayle and Mccullum opened the batting in that match. So this blog looks pretty authentic. And there’s more interesting information on the midnight antics of many cricketers and commentators. It seems that Warne got 3 women into his bed after losing his team’s opening rubber and the opening ceremony. And his team didn’t practice the next morning either. Well thay didn’t need to, because they had not a match on that day and even if they practice they’re gonna be in the bottom three.

Now we come to the main question, the identity of this mysterious blogger. He says that the KKR management had shortlisted four young players whom they suspected of writing the blog. But it seems that his name was not on the list. Another fact that I used in my theorising was that he talked about Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli. Says he, “We have played against one another for a few seasons. I think he deserves to be in the Indian side. Definitely ahead of that Virat Kohli whom nobody likes in the domestic circuit.” I was thinking that it could be that Delhi batsman Akash Chopra, but ruled him out since he could not have playes against Shikhar Dhawan.

Then I read another post, where he says, “The word I heard a lot as I was growing up in Cal. ” So I confirmed he was a Bengal player. I went through the profiles of Bengali player in the KKR team who were born in the City of Joy, shortlisting Ashok Dinda, Sourav Ganguly(Yeah, the Lord!),  Saurasish Lahiri and Laxmi Ratan Shukla. These were the only players who I think are in SA with the team. Since the blogger speaks of domestic cricket, Dada is out of my list. That leaves three players.  The blogger also says, “And if the team’s 16th man like me can get affected by this, I am sure the others are getting severely affected. “, in a post where he laments about Dada’s removal from captaincy. So I guess the guy is Saurasish Lahiri. Or it could be anyone else. This is only my deduction. I’ll also write about my view on the IPL, but that’s for another post. Till then, ciao.

5 thoughts on “Who’s the Fake IPL blogger?

Leave a Reply

