Fedoraaaaaaaaa!!! Rocking @ SSN!

I’ve been using Fedora 11 on my laptop right from the day I bought it a month back. I did the usual work like installing the media and development packages which I use often. I didn’t update it though, as I do with my desktop. Yesterday at college I had an idea, and presto, it worked! Yeah, presto made it work. Fedora’s yum-presto plugin is my latest obsession, and I’m playing with it for a week or so on my desktop. Basically this is what presto does in a nutshell:

  • It compares the local package copy on your PC with the latest updated RPM on the repository mirror. I use the IIT-K mirror, it is blazing fast for me.
  • Delta RPMs on the mirror store the difference(delta) between the versions, so the plugin downloads the drpms, then builds the entire rpm files using the local sources and the drpms.
  • Thus, you save on a lot of bandwidth, and spare the mirrors from overload (which is a very good thing to do).

My idea was this:

Behind the college proxy server, we can only download files which are smaller than 25MB in size. I guessed that since I had saved 65 to 80% on bandwidth using yum-presto on my desktop, I’d surely save 40 to 50 % on my laptop since the packages are a bit older than the desktop.

I edited the yum config file to include the proxy server settings:

$ su -c ‘gedit /etc/yum.conf’

Add a line:

proxy=http://proxyhost:proxyport

Then save and close the file.

Now I had already installed yum-presto on my laptop using:

$ su -c ‘yum install yum-presto’

Now I started updating my system, using:

$ su -c ‘yum update’

I left it running from 11 am to 2 pm, and by then all packages had been downloaded. Another few minutes, and my system was up to date. As I had predicted, none of the packages downloaded exceeded the 25MB limit. So I guess that Fedora is the best OS to use and update at SSN!

Leave a Reply

