Fedora 12 Beta Installation.. A Breeze!

I’ve been using Fedora since Fedora Core 6 back in 2006 when I was in my first year. I’ve wandered a lot in distroland, and since have stuck to Fedora since Fedora 9. I get kicks out of using the latest and greatest software available, so I downloaded the nightly build for Fedora 12 beta last weekend from http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt/nightly-composes/desktop/ and then installed it on my desktop last Sunday. The first thing that surprised me was the speed at which the live system loaded onto my desktop. I tried out the live system just for fun, and it was speedier than the previous versions and also Karmic Koala’s release candidate live CD. (It is faster than the Ubuntu 9.10 Final Live CD too!)

This excited me a lot, so I went ahead and installed the system onto my hard disk. Installation went really smooth, and there was not a single problem. So, I rebooted and went into my shiny new system. And God, I do love the default wallpaper! Light Blue and Light Green are my favorite colors, and this one has Light Blue as default!

Now, I wanted to do some work on this new machine. So I installed jdk, netbeans and eclipse to see if a few programs ran well. Then I installed gcc and all the other development tools. I’ve installed the multimedia codecs and many other essential software that could not be accomodated on the 653MB CD image.

GNOME 2.28 seems very stable and Empathy rocks! The Google Talk call feature is the real talking point of this GNOME IM client. I installed my own Eclipse from the IBM site, and had to change SELinux mode to permissive and execute

$ su -c 'chcon -t execmem_exec_t '/usr/local/eclipse/eclipse' '

to let SELinux allow eclipse to run.

I’ve copied over my Drupal installation on my laptop to this one, and the LAMP stack runs well, no issues at all. (The site is on localhost!)

I’ll upload the screenshots for the installation on my VM and other details in subsequent posts. The way this beauty seems to run, it makes me think twice of delaying the installation on my laptop till the final release!

One thought on “Fedora 12 Beta Installation.. A Breeze!

Leave a Reply

