My classmates are tilting towards Linux!

It seems that most of my classmates are moving to Linux, mostly Ubuntu and Fedora, although it is for the sake of their projects. Here goes a comparison why Linux is infinitely better than Windows here:

Tools for the job:

  • For my friends who need to do image or signal processing as part of their work, there are two options: Matlab or Octave. But Matlab isn’t free while Octave is. One professor recommended Octave to his students, and others are following suit.
  • For the project I’m working on, I need a SCM tool, and one that runs on Linux. I’m using git, python, pyxml and umbrello for my project since I’m more comfortable with Linux than Windows (At places where I must use Windows, such as internet cafes, I still press Alt-F2 to run a program 🙂 ) Thankfully, my teammates are also comfy with Linux, one being a RHCE.
  • Some friends of mine are working on cloud-based projects, so they have been using Ubuntu server (since their guide has heard of Eucalyptus)

One of the reasons I love Linux is the fact that the whole household can use it for work and play, and I can type in my native Tamil as fast as I type in English. I admit that the Unicode keyboard profile is not the best thing out there, but practice and patience mean that it is far easier now to type in Tamil than to transliterate.

There are some people who’re reluctant to come out of their Windows shell (oops, is there a shell in windows?), mainly due to fear or fan-worshipping Bill Gates.  The former category would do better to read this:

“After closing the doors that lead you nowhere, throw away the key! Because our tendency is to look back and regret.” – Paulo Coelho. But I don’t regret it, and so won’t you.

15 thoughts on “My classmates are tilting towards Linux!

  1. Sorry to ask this here but I couldn’t find a way of contacting you. What theme are you using for this site? I love it! Is it a theme that you developed yourself or is it available for download somewhere?

    Thanks and great blog!

    1. I use a wordpress theme named “Silver is the New Black” It is available in wordpress as a free theme. I loved the plain looks and unbroken CSS 🙂

      1. Thanks for the info! The plain looks are what I love about it. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find a theme with that name. I wonder if it’s been removed? Would you happen to know who created the theme? Maybe I can find the website. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

